West Tyrone Sinn Féin -- Building an Ireland of Equals

Council Chair pays tribute to Border Communities Against Brexit on receipt of Prestigious EU Citizens Award.

Published: 19 July, 2017

Fermanagh and Omagh Council District Chair Stephen McCann has paid congratulations to the work campaign group Border Communities Against Brexit (BCAB) on winning the prestigious European Citizens Award 2017.

BCAB were nominated for the prize by 6 Irish MEPs, Martina Anderson, Matt Carthy, Lynn Boylan, Liadh ni Riada, Marian Harkin and Nessa Childers for their efforts in defending cross border cooperation and following a ceremony to celebrate the group's Award in Monaghan's Garage Theatre on Friday the local Council Chair said,

"I am delighted that the work carried out by BCAB has been recognised at such a high level. Brexit has massive implications for the island of Ireland and particularly the border regions. BCAB have been proactive in lobbying parliaments in Dublin and Brussells amongst others in highlighting the detrimental impact Brexit will have, across all aspects of society.

"The campaign group have been pivotal in ensuring that the far reaching and disastrous consequences of Brexit upon Ireland and in particular upon our border communities have been fully understood within Europe and the group will undoubtedly continue to help ensure that interests of Border citizens remain centre of the political agenda in Europe,"

"That this prestigious award has been won by BCAB is a fitting testament to the major impact that it has already been having upon shaping opinion within Europe on the Brexit-Irish question and it is right and fitting that the value of their work is being given due recognition at this ceremony in Monaghan.

"The people of Omagh and Fermanagh voted to overwhelmingly to remain in the EU and as Council Chair, it is my intention to ensure that this achievement and the sterling work of BCAB is also recognised locally through a Chairperson's reception in the very near future. CRÍOCH